PLEASANT HILLS, Pa.; March 11, 2024 -- It was a fun, festive evening celebrating the Class of 2024's induction into the West Jefferson Hills School District Hall of Fame. A total of 24 individuals and two WPIAL and/or PIAA championship teams, the vast majority of whom are graduates of Thomas Jefferson High School, were inducted in the categories of Academics, Arts, Athletics or Teacher/Staff/Contributor.

A celebratory crowd of more than 300 filled the Georgetown Center on Saturday night for the second annual Hall of Fame banquet, with inductees traveling from Turkey (U.S. Air Force Captain Chris Drager), Germany (U.S. Army Colonel Walter Richter), California, Texas, Florida, Ohio, West Virginia and other locales outside of Western Pennsylvania to attend.

One inductee was selected to speak on behalf of the other inductees in their category. Dr. Amy Hosmer '01 spoke on behalf of the Academics inductees, Scott Buckiso '85 spoke for the Athletics inductees and long-time WJHSD second grade teacher Louise Biddle spoke for the Teacher/Staff/Contributors.

Superintendent Dr. Janet Sardon led the re-launch of the district's Hall of Fame program in the Fall of 2022 and inducted its initial classes of 2019-20 and 2022-23 in March of last year.

Thomas Jefferson graduates who have distinguished themselves in the areas of Academics, Arts or Athletics, as well as staff and community members, are eligible for induction, if they meet the established Hall of Fame criteria. Inductees from the two inaugural classes included former students, teachers, staff and community members who have made unique and lasting contributions to the district and the West Elizabeth, Jefferson Hills and Pleasant Hills communities.

Committees in each of the four areas - Academics, Arts, Athletics and Teacher/Staff/Contributor - considered the nominees and recommended selections for induction to the entire Hall of Fame Committee.

The nomination form for the WJHSD Hall of Fame Class of 2025 is posted on the District's website,, and social media platforms, with nominations being accepted into the early part of this fall.

WJHSD Hall of Fame Class of 2024


Dr. Corey Bakalarski '98

Dr. Scott Brancolini '90

Dr. Amy Hosmer '01

Dr. Mary (Schlitt) Kostalos '62 (posthumous)

Ashley Kramer '01

Col. Walter Richter '87

Dr. Nicole L. Stout '90


2007 TJHS Football team

2014 TJHS Softball team

Pedro Bowman '81

David Branchen '87

Evan Browne '05

Scott Buckiso '85

Dan Crisp '73

Christopher Drager '07

Nikki (Presto) Feathers '06

Gary Gomolak '75

Chuck Mozingo '71

Mike Reilly '63 (posthumous)

Grace (Ninesling) Whelan '11

Chase Winovich '14


Louise Biddle

John "Hoppy" Mitruski '69 (posthumous)

Joyce (Hoak) Schmidt '60 (posthumous)

Tom Sharkey

Michael Thatcher '02

This content has been submitted by authors outside of this publisher and is not its editorial product. It could contain opinions, facts, and points of view that have not been reviewed or accepted by the publisher.