Sewickley Academy sophomores Emma Ehan and Raneen Wahdan were selected as 2024 National Center for Women & Information Technology Aspirations in Computing High School Award national recipients. The award showcases their achievements and ambitions in technology and computing and is intended to encourage the recipients to pursue their passion for computing.

Isabella Bock was named to the dean’s list at Tufts University for the fall 2023 semester.

Computer engineering major Katherine Bippus and software engineering major Isaac Mckinney were named to the dean’s list at the Rochester Institute of Technology for the fall 2023 semester.

Ryan Mounteer, a sophomore theatre major fat Slippery Rock University, was the sound designer for “Tragedy: a tragedy,” which performed earlier this month at the university’s Stoner West Black Box Theater.

Jared Pfister, a business administration major, has been named to Youngstown State University’s president’s list for achieving a perfect 4.0 grade point average in the fall 2023 semester.

Srivats Pulumati made the dean’s list at the University of Pittsburgh for the fall 2023 semester.

Sebastian Tan, 16, was named a 2024 Prudential Emerging Visionary for founding “OutsideConnection,” an online job site that drives economic opportunity for previously incarcerated individuals by allowing them to search for open positions at businesses and make meaningful contributions to their local communities. Tan grew up working at his family’s bakery alongside a diverse group of employees, some of whom had previously been incarcerated. “Our reentrants have become more than just employees; they’ve become our family,” he said. His project is working to prevent recidivism by creating pathways to employment. As one of 25 Prudential Emerging Visionary winners, Tan will receive a $5,000 award to help take his innovation to the next level, as well as an all-expenses-paid trip for a three-day summit in April where he will receive coaching, skills development and networking opportunities with Prudential employees and other young leaders.

Edgeworth and Osborne elementary fifth graders recently represented the Quaker Valley School District in a competition. They were among the many students who participated in the Science Bowl at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History on Feb. 23. Edgeworth students were Martina Osofsky, Mia Casker, Jack Turan and Darius Behboudi. Osborne students were Gavin Muretisch, Agnes Picarsic, Nora Sheridan and Sam Tetlow. Each team completed three different challenges, including mystery rocks and minerals in the Foster Overlook, diorama discovery in the Hall of Wildlife, and the dino design challenge in the Dinosaurs in their Time exhibit. Teams also had the opportunity to explore additional exhibits in the museum galleries. Edgeworth earned a third-place finish at the event and Osborne earned a second-place finish. The competition was sponsored by the Allegheny Intermediate Unit.